Make It Perfect Joey Dress

I tested a fantastic new pattern recently – you may have seen a few popping up in blog land, it’s the Joey dress by Make It Perfect.

IMG_9971

IMG_9966

The Joey Dress is a super comfy (so Miss A tells me) and super easy to put together knit dress. The cute kangaroo pocket is a big hit and I love how the ribbing adds a pop of colour.

This cute little pocket, for keeping little hands warm and storing dandelions. Embarrassing to admit, but I didn’t know, until I started reading sewing blogs, that this pocket was called a kangaroo pocket. And I live in Australia….

is it just me? is this a term that is more common in the US than here? Aussies – help me out here?!!?

Ha ha, anyway, cute pocket 🙂

IMG_9963

IMG_9975

I used a knit with a small wool percentage for the dress, so it’s great for the cooler weather. It also has great layering potential. Having said that, the pattern also has a short sleeve option and this, paired with a lighter knit, would make a fantastic warm weather version. For proof, check out Teresa’s cute Joey dress.

Toni’s kids patterns come in two size ranges 0-5 years and 6-10 years. This is the first kids pattern of hers that I have made. I found the layout and instructions to be up there with the best of them. I sent about one line of feedback during the test – not because I’m a lazy tester, I was doing my best to find issues, but seriously, there were hardly any. This lady knows how to put a pattern together.

I love the simplicity of the pattern – it’s super quick and would make a great beginner project.

IMG_9972

 

Spring has arrived here in Australia and it was so great to be able to get out and about again for photos

and to make some wishes 😉

12 comments

  1. I love it…and I call it a kangaroo pocket too! 🙂 I definitely agree with you that this is a great pattern and my girl loves it! I definitely need to make her more dresses out of knit fabric!

  2. This is so cute Renee! And knit with a little wool…..nice!! 🙂
    Your daughter makes the cutest dandelion blower ever!!

  3. I hadn’t heard the term until I moved to the US. And even then, I hadn’t heard the term until, hmmm… 3 months ago? I don’t think I really called it anything when I was in Australia!

  4. Love this dress. Another one I think I need in my size bc it’s so comfy looking! And I don’t think I knew it was called that either until reading sewing blogs but I was never super fashion-forward so I’m not a good judge 🙂

Leave a Reply

