Continuing the (Fun) Work Wardrobe: A Floaty Skirt

Floaty Skirt 2

Ha, sorry for the super serious face – I was pretty cold, taking these pics πŸ™‚

Floaty Skirt 1

Todays make was so simple – but I love it!! Mostly because of the fabric – rayon (I think!) and it’s from Tessuti, but sorry folks, it’s all gone 😦 I bought the fabric with the intention of making a Belcarra blouse, but somehow it became a skirt.

Floaty Skirt 6

I used the freeΒ Easy Gathered SkirtΒ pattern from Pattern Runway. There’s not too much that can go wrong with such a simple pattern. It’s super easy and well explained. I haven’t tried a Pattern Runway pattern before, but I was impressed with the layout and instructions provided with this pattern. The only changes I made to the pattern were (1) to add a lining due to the light weight of the fabric and (2) using a narrow hem, which is just a personal preference of mine.

Floaty Skirt 5

My shirt is RTW – to be honest, I’m not sure I’m motivated enough to sew staples like shirts. My automatic buttonhole function and I are not friends. Anyway, back to the skirt,

Fun: 5/5

Cross-Functional: Yes, I’ve worn this skirt to social sewing and out to dinner 5/5

Wearability: 4/5 (only because it’s a skirt and requires me to make my legs presentable before leaving the house)

Does It Fit In?: Yes, a very welcome addition to my work and general wardrobe 5/5

Floaty Skirt 3

If you are keen to make yourself a skirt but don’t want to print out a PDF, there is a tutorial over on Gertie’s blogΒ to make a similar skirt by using your measurements. I’ve seen two cute versions recently, Jess used Gertie’s tutorial and Liz just made up her own pattern (clever lady!).

I’m soon going to have to move beyond my love of sewing prints, otherwise nothing in my wardrobe will match – but I’m not sure I’m ready yet πŸ™‚

5 comments

  1. The fabric is so pretty and I just love the skirt! A long skirt has been on my list to sew for awhile, I’m just trying to figure out what style I want. This gathered option is great!

Leave a Reply

