Pattern Tour: Bohemian Babydoll Dress

Bohemian Babydoll 3

If you’re a regular Nearest the Pin reader, you’ll know that I’m a big fan of Elegance & Elephants patterns. I recently tested both the Spring Showers Jacket and the Stellar Vest and Dress patterns. Heidi has been kind enough to invite me to be part of the pattern tour for her newest release – the Bohemian Babydoll dress. Of course I jumped on board – and I was not going to let the fact that we are 3 days into winter here in Australia deter me from sewing up this gorgeous dress pattern!!

IMG_9011

IMG_9009

The front bodice has a curve along the bottom edge which I love and the hem also has a subtle hi-low shape. Both of these features add some flair to the dress IMO. Another thing to LOVE about this pattern is that there are no closures – the dress is designed to slip over the head. I’m pleased to report that this was easy to do and there was no contorting of the 2 year old required (as there have been with some other closure-less dresses that I have made for her).

For this dress I found a lovely silk-cotton blend at my local fabric warehouse – the design is a deep purple, which I hope comes out in the photos. The pattern has a fully lined bodice, but because my fabric is so light, I lined the skirt as well. I love that this is a fun summer dress, but there’s nothing too frilly going on – this pattern fits to my taste perfectly.

IMG_9014IMG_9017

The fit is loose and flowing which I love for a summer dress. The armhole is also quite scooped as you can see – but again, I like this for summer. Heidi’s instructions are always exemplary and this dress pattern will not disappoint. The only question I have is whether there could be an alternative bodice construction method given in addition to Heidi’s method, which is to fold the armhole edges under and topstitch. This method worked ok for me – but I wonder whether a ‘sew inside out and then pull through the shoulder’ method could be used here, to give a cleaner finish? I’ll give it a try next time and report back.

IMG_9019

IMG_9043

This photo shoot presented a new challenge for me. Making a summer dress on the first day of winter meant inside photos only. I certainly need some more practice which I’ll no doubt get over the next few months. Miss A. will get to wear her new dress in a few weeks as we’re heading off somewhere very warm for a much needed family getaway.

Even though I made a summery version, I think heavier fabrics would also make a great trans-seasonal option that could be layered with tights and long sleeves. Just make sure it’s a fabric that gathers well if you want to use the skirt that comes with the pattern. The scooped arm hole and looser fitting bodice mean there will be no trouble fitting some layers underneath.

IMG_9036

IMG_9027

Thank you so much Heidi for today’s invitation. Be sure to head over to Elegance and Elephants to see many other fantastic versions of the Bohemian Babydoll. Stay tuned here too for more little girl sewing in the coming weeks.

 

9 comments

  1. It’s lovely Renee! And good to hear the closure less opening works – I’ve found nothing will get a kid cranky like having to squeeze into something 🙂

Leave a Reply

