Pattern Review: Spring Showers Jacket

Hi everyone! If you follow nearest the pin on Instagram then you may have seen a sneak peak of this jacket already. If you’re not a follower, you can always come and join in the fun, I’m @nearestthepin.

So, I had the honour of pattern testing for Heidi of Elegance and Elephants this week and sewing up her newest pattern – the Spring Showers Jacket. This is the first jacket I’ve ever made .

Image

IMG_8298

The jacket is fully lined and includes two views, with the cinched waist or without. I love to sew lined garments as they give such a professional look – all my little sewing secrets (mistakes) are hidden inside the lining 😉 Not that there were many mistakes with this jacket – it really is one of those projects that looks a lot more complicated than it actually is.

Image

Image

I was feeling like I’d created a monster of a project with choosing checked fabric, where to match? where not to match? I just really wanted to make sure the checks were matching across the zipper – check it out!!

Image

The fabric I used for this jacket is duck from my local large chain fabric store – sometimes, just sometimes they come through with the goods! The lining is a cotton poplin. This combination of fabrics caused me a little challenge because the duck has a bit of give in it to allow easing but the poplin has none making it a challenge when I was sewing the two fabrics together. I would have loved to try a laminated fabric or oilcloth, but I’m glad I’ve tried the pattern on an easier fabric first.

This really is an achievable project if you’ve sewn a few things before and can follow a pattern. Heidi has produced some great instructions with colour photos. Ha, and I know from experience, that if you get into trouble she’s more than happy to help you out! I attached my facing pieces the wrong way around at first meaning my lining and jacket did not match up – luckily Heidi has since made the labelling on the pattern piece clearer so it shouldn’t be a problem for you.

After taking tester feedback, the final version of the pattern has some small changes to the jacket you see here. The most noticeable change being that she has made the hood a bit smaller. My husband, who doesn’t say a whole lot about my sewing, commented that this jacket looks very impressive – that’s a big tick of approval from him! I’m really thrilled with how it has turned out and I can’t wait to see lots of other Spring Showers Jackets out in blogland. The pattern is out now and available for the reduced price of $7 for the next few days. Head over to Elegance and Elephants to see a round up of all the tester versions of this pattern.

IMG_8269

Have a great weekend everyone and I’ll be back on Monday to kick off Kids Clothes Week – can’t wait!!

 

 

25 comments

  1. I love this jacket so freakin much! I need one in my size. Great job on the pattern matching at the zip. Your little one looks like a cupcake in it 🙂

  2. Amazing pattern matching skills there! I love this checked version! Awesome, awesome job, and I agree, this is a great pattern!

  3. OK, the first thing first – the jacket is awesome, the pattern matching is great! And hey, what a compliment from your husband! I am going to buy this pattern now as I think it will make the most awesome rain coat!

  4. Hi there! Love the fabric choice here… So adorable! Thinking about everything I’ve sewn for the kids…jackets should really be at the top of the list in terms of something that will get a lot of wear! Well done 🙂

  5. I love this jacket! Saw the pattern release, I will keep this in mind for later, I really don’t think I can handle a lined jacket as my first jacket, I am going for an unlined jacket first, and if it goes well then we will see :-p

    And yes I do like the duck cloth range from that store. I just need the right project before I purchase some!

  6. I just can’t believe this is your first jacket! It loos so progressional with the pattern matching and overall construction. Thank you so much for testing and for this wonderful review!

Leave a Reply

