Hanging on to summer – the Tessuti Valerie Top

As summer slowly edges away from us here in the southern hemisphere, I’m doing all I can to hold on to it a bit longer. I spotted this floral rayon in a local fabric shop a few weeks ago and it was one of those purchases where I had no real project in mind. I was tossing up between a Wiksten tank or a Scout tee. The lovely ladies on Instagram gave me some great suggestions too, but ultimately I wanted to try something a bit different. I hadn’t sewn any patterns from Tessuti before and here was a great opportunity.

Image

This is the Valerie Top – a lovely floaty A-line top with interesting gathered darts in the front and back. I have to say that this may just be the most comfortable top I own.

Image

Image

Image

The Pros: This is a straightforward project and quick to sew. I had it done from pattern purchase to completion in one day. The more I wear this top the more I love it.

The Cons: Be aware that the armhole is deep – there is a bit of bra on show. I took a photo to show you.

Image

Sizing: My bust, waist, hip measurements put me in a S-M-M, but because of the floaty nature of the top I thought I could get away with a straight small. I sewed up the straight size small and I was swimming in it – I have taken about an inch off both of the side seams and could probably have taken a bit more.

Will I sew this pattern again? Definitely! I’m thinking of a black version with a statement necklace to wear out to dinner.

Want to see more Valerie tops? Rachel made a lovely version hereΒ and Lara’s great pink version is here.

I guess I should think about sewing for Autumn now. How about you?

11 comments

  1. Love it Renee, just like everything you make πŸ™‚ This top practically screams, ‘Summer!” What a great way to prolong summer for a little longer πŸ™‚

  2. This is beautiful!! Love the floaty effect, and the fabric is gorgeous. Certainly worth making again. πŸ™‚

    I’ve just realized a few minutes ago that I’ve been on your site several times as well! KCW, the Knight Hoodie pattern tour and your awesome tut for making a ninja version! Such is the downside of reading most of your blogs on your phone via Bloglovin, you sometimes don’t realize exactly which blog you’re reading at the time! πŸ™‚ Glad I finally figured it out.

  3. I’m in the northern hemisphere and gearing up to sew for summer! This top has been in my stash since Tessuti released it and I’m anxious to make one…or two or three!

Leave a Reply

