An Out and About Dress and a Giveaway!!

I’m showing off my new love today – the most comfortable and versatile dress I’ve ever owned. It’s Sew Caroline’s debut pattern, the Out and About dress.

Image

Image

The Out and About Dress is a knit pattern, hence why this dress is my new love – it’s so comfy to wear and can be dressed up or down.ย This dress can be worn with a jacket, leggings and boots for cooler weather, dressed up for a night out or with sandals for summer – will I ever wear anything else? The pattern also comes with maxi length and long sleeve options. Once I saw the fab versions sew up by Abby and Erin I was sold. Tempted to sew your own version? I’ve got a copy to give away so read on.

And seriously – please forgive the photo quality in this post. The camera repair guy has had my camera for about 3 weeks, apparently waiting for a part from China…….this is a loan camera and its not a DSLR, we’ve done our best folks ๐Ÿ™‚

Image

Image

Pattern Info

The Good: If you, like me love to support indie pattern designers, you will agree that some pattern designers are certainly better than others. Caroline’s first pattern has seriously impressed me. Her instructions are very clear and well written. I had no trouble whatsoever sewing up this dress. It’s very simple to put together with no closures or fiddly details, attaching the neckband is as difficult as it gets. You could definitely attempt this dress as a first knit pattern.

The Bad: According to the pattern instructions, my measurements put me in a medium – large – large (bust, waist, hips) so I cut my fabric accordingly. It was huge on me ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Have you ever attempted to unpick a stretch stitch? Gah – my life is not long enough for that! So, I took width from the sleeves and bodice without pulling the sleeves out and re-cutting the fabric down to a small. The resulting size is fine, but there is excess fabric around the armscye. Now, I’m not suggesting this is a fault of the pattern. I read a really interesting post recently by Heidi of Elegance and Elephants about the effect of knit fabric stretch % on the resulting size of your garment. I’m wondering if this is why my dress was huge? I’m not sure. I used a good quality cotton interlock that is not overly light or stretchy and has good recovery. Regardless of cause, I’ll definitely be sewing a small next time ๐Ÿ™‚

Verdict: I love it. Stylish and comfortable. Be aware that the sizing may be influenced by the stretch percentage of your fabric. I recommend basting your bodice and trying for size BEFORE you use your stretch stitch.

The belt inspiration came from this pin.

Image

So to the giveaway – funny story, I bought this pattern last week and half sewed the dress the same day. The next morning I woke up to an email that I had won a copy of the Out and About dress – WHAT!!?! Luckily for you, Caroline graciously agreed to allow me to give the pattern away again.

To be in the running simply leave a comment telling about the best thing you’ve ever won.ย I’ll draw the winner randomly on Tuesday 25th – Good Luck!! ย UPDATE – GIVEAWAY NOW CLOSED

18 comments

  1. That floral belt added is so cute! I just am now understanding how stretch of knit changes results too. So tough when you find fabric you love but has wrong stretch. The fit looks pretty good from here on you though. The best thing I ever won was a tent at a rock climbing competition!

  2. Gorgeous dress Renee. I love the contrast belt and what’s not to like about a dress with pockets!! I haven’t sewn a lot with knit, for some reason it scares me! I must change that. I don’t win much (so sad) but when I was about 14 I won a state wide social studies competition and received a $50 book voucher which I spent on a beautiful Phantom of the Opera book complete with score at the back. I was obsessed with musicals at the time!!

  3. I love that dress! Thank you for sharing the pattern review.

    The best thing I have ever won is my husband. He says I’m the best one that has ever won him over too!

  4. Gorgeous! Think the best thing I’ve ever won was a metalicus outfit, even though I’ve never worn two of the pieces. I remember it made my day๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘

  5. Renee, it looks fabulous on, and I love that floral belt. It adds such a lovely finishing touch ๐Ÿ™‚ OK, I love this dress so here it comes… I am not the one winning cool stuff in our family. It is usually my hubby. All I have ever won were a few chocolates, which was nice, but I was also super lucky to win the Mara blouse pattern. I have already used it twice and am rubbing my hands in anticipation to make a few cooler weather Mara blouses and dresses.

  6. Looks great!!! I’m surprised you had fit issues. This was the first pattern I’ve sewn that my measurements all fit into one size. I don’t have too much experience with different types of knits and how they sew. I’m curious to see if it fits differently with another type of knit. I just ordered some new knits from Girl Charlee. I can’t wait to make another one!

  7. Firstly, love your dress – it’s definitely gone straight to my patterns I want list! Yours is so refined looking, love the belt with it too. Does it specify a stretch percentage for the fabric in the pattern? I’m starting to sew more knit patterns & find it really helpful when the designer is really clear about how much stretch is recommended – choosing the right knit is probably the hardest part of sewing knits for me!

    Secondly, the best thing I’ve ever won would be a $4 bank account when I was 10 years old!!! I won it for my painting in an art competition and it was the proudest moment of my young life – 32 years later I still look back fondly at that memory.

  8. I LOVE how you made this! I want to blatantly copy (hehe). I think the best thing I’ve ever won was a creative writing contest in 4th grade. No, really! We all had to write books and illustrate them (in these awesome hardback blank books), and my book “Dolphin Sea” won for my grade! A local acting troupe came out and acted out all the winning books in front of our entire elementary school, while the writer sat and looked on (in a directors chair, no less!). It was a special moment for a super-shy girl! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. It still turned out super cute. I love it. I haven’t won anything but I am hoping I will win something one day. I figure I just need to keep at it and maybe one day, it will happen ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

