Christmas Ornament Exchange 2013

A few weeks ago I read about a really fun idea over at True Bias. Kelli was organising an ornament exchange – a pretty simple concept, just make some lovely ornaments and send them off to other crafty people in your ornament exchange group and in return, handmade ornaments would start appearing in your letterbox. I straight away put my hand up to be a part of it.

Kelli is based in New York, but luckily for me a little group of crafty people in Australia and New Zealand also wanted to take part. Hence, a trans-Tasman ornament exchange group was formed. Amongst the Christmas chaos, I got busy formulating a plan for the ornament I would make and send off to all the members of my group.

It was an easy decision really. I’d seen this pin on Pinterest and knew straight away that there was my inspiration.

Image

Image

I spent a few days with my mum recently and we had some rare but very much appreciated time crafting together. It was really lovely to sit on the couch chatting while putting these little christmas trees together. It felt like this is what Christmas should be about.

Our production line was so good I have had enough of these little beauties to use as teacher gifts and also for a few friends.

The next fun part of the exchange is when lovely little parcels start arriving in the mailbox – I didn’t anticipate how much fun this would be, I felt like a 5 year old πŸ™‚

Firstly, this very stylish guy arrived from Nicole of The Somnolent Dachshund.

Image

Then this much needed star arrived to top my tree, from the very talented Alison.

Image

Finally I received a sweet ornament from Gabrielle of Up Sew Late, complete with chocolate inside (had to hide that one from the kids).

Image

There are still two ornaments on their way to me, but unfortunately as we are heading off on holidays tomorrow this blog post could not wait (sorry Amber and Rhonda, I’ll be excited to see these when I get back).

Image

I did learn one important lesson, if you don’t want to spend more than you expected to on postage, MAKE A FLAT ORNAMENT!! Yes, I am yelling – the difference in postage costs is enormous. Note for future self πŸ™‚

Overall, this has been an even greater experience than I ever imagined – my tree is looking fab and I’ve made some new blogging friends. Thanks so much Kelli for organising the exchange.

Merry Christmas everyone, I hope its a happy, healthy and safe one for all x

8 comments

  1. Love your tree ornament! It’s so fun with all those colours.
    I wanted to take part this year but I’m just not that crafty beyond sewing from a pattern. Perhaps next year. Merry Christmas, Renee!

  2. I love your tree ornament! It would fit right in with our colorful tree. And I think it’s neat everyone else you exchanged with had a colorful theme going on!

  3. I had so much fun exchanging ornaments with you – I highly suggest we all get onto it again next year – and include info on the Auspost tips! (I did feel guilty sealing them as large letters but they were under 20mm!). Thanks again for your gorgeous tree – and the box which has already been repurposed!

Leave a Reply

