My ‘finish what you started’ challenge part 2, the striped kimono.

If you’re anything like me, you have about 100 things on the go at once at this time of the year. Although things have been a bit quiet here on the blog, there has been plenty of making going on. I’ve been busy with a coveted pattern tester role for the lovely Elisa of Charming Doodle and I’m participating in Kelli’s Ornament Exchange (more on both of these projects soon).

So what is one to do when coming up for air between these projects and the very long list of teacher gifts, Christmas presents and other assorted projects…… throw some selfish sewing into the mix of course!!

Image

Image

I needed a quick and easy project to give my mood a lift. I’ve had this light voile (I think its voile but I’m just guessing) in my stash for a while. I picked it up from the clearance table of my local Spotlight thinking it would become something to wear for out Port Douglas holiday. Well that holiday was last August….but better late than never, hence why this is part of my ‘finish what you started’ challenge. If you missed part 1 of this challenge, you can catch it here, but basically I have challenged myself to get through the long list of projects for which I already have fabric and patterns. The list is long my friends.

Image

This is such a quick, easy and satisfying project. There is no pattern, but I followed this tutorial from Leanne of Elle Apparel. Leanne always looks amazing and her kimono is just gorgeous. While I followed her tutorial as written this time, I found her method of sleeve insertion (sewing up the side seams then inserting the already sewn together sleeve into the sleeve hole) didn’t really work for me, (I used French seams and overcomplicated things for myself I think) so next time I’ll attach the sleeve prior to sewing up the side seam.

What? Overcomplicate a super simple sewing project? I can and I certainly did πŸ™‚

Image

I love this kimono for adding a splash of colour to an otherwise everyday outfit. Now that I’ve made this muslin version, I’ll be investing in some more luxurious fabric for the next one. Ok, I’m heading back to my holiday preparations. How are yours going? Any selfish sewing going on?

9 comments

  1. I’ve got to do some ‘finishing what I started’ too!
    The only selfish sewing I have on the go is a dress I started making LAST October, thinking I’d wear it at Christmas. I haven’t even finished it in time for THIS Christmas, 15 months later…..
    Ok…maybe…just maybe…. I’ll get the sewing machine out and finish it…
    Lovely kimono top, floaty and pretty. Am very jealous of your summer!

  2. Lovely Renee πŸ™‚ I Agree – this kimono makes an every day outfit brighter, and I love it! I was going to make myself a new top before mum arrived… that didn’t happen! Ha! I am so going to join your challenge!

  3. I bought some fabric the other day that would be perfect for something like this! I must add this to my list of things to do. Love it.. and I really like your idea of finishing what you started πŸ™‚

  4. Ohh I have this fabric but I’m not sure what to make with it. You might inspire me to start something with it! I love how soft and light this fabric is, perfect for my current humid summer. I was thinking of adding some pintucks to a scout tee…

  5. It’s lovely Renee! I’ve seen a few of these around and was wondering what pattern/tutorial people were using, so thanks for the link. It also looks like the perfect cover-up when I’ve had too much sun on my arms, which seems like most of the time these days!

Leave a Reply

