12 Days of Christmas Sew Along

It’s not like me to be early for anything, it’s just part of my nature to do things in my own time. All that changed last week when I read about Suz’s new series the 12 Days of Christmas! Suz of the blog Sewpony together with Laura of Craftstorming are hosting this great series for all of us to showcase the clothes we make for our children to wear at Christmas. The series will officially run from Dec 1-12, but as I said, I’m jumping in early to be part of the sew-along aaaaaand I may have gone a little Christmas crazy – possibly making my daughter look like a cross between a shepherd and a candy cane.

Image

Image

We love Christmas here and that love is especially renewed now we have small people in the house. Their excitement and impatience is infectious. Christmas for us involves nieces and nephews, ice cream plum pudding, backyard cricket and an afternoon swim.

I grew up on a farm and my brother would always catch yabbies (a freshwater crustacean that looks a prawn) from our dam and these would be eaten freshly cooked on Christmas Eve. We no longer have the farm, however seafood often features in our Christmas meals. Given the climate we live in, barbecues of salmon and prawns along with salads are common for us. While we usually eat turkey at Christmas Day lunch, this is really for tradition as it’s often too hot for eating a heavy meal – but we do it anyway.

Image

Image

I stuck to my resolution from my ‘finish what you started’ challenge and used patterns and fabric from my stash (excluding the red and white stripe, but it was on the clearance table so we’ll let that one slide….oooops!). The dress is made from red unbrushed fleecy which can be easily layered with leggings when there is a chill in the evening.

The dress pattern is the Go To Shift Dress from Go To Patterns. It’s a lovely simple pattern which I really enjoyed sewing. It can be made in woven or knit fabric which adds to the versatility. The pattern calls for gathering around the neckline, however, due to the thickness of my fabric, I added a small box pleat instead. Given that the fabric has stretch, I could have sized down, but hey, she may be able to wear this as a tunic for the festivities next year.

Thanks to Suz and Laura for getting me into the Christmas spirit over here! I am really excited to see what all the series guests sew up for their little ones. Will you be sewing along too?

Linked up to the Project Run and Play Holiday Wear Link Party.

11 comments

  1. Awesome Renee!! You are do organized!! That said, I am about half way through sewing three Christmas dresses. It’s a great way to start feeling festive! The dress is great thanks for sewing along!!

  2. Pingback: Craftstorming

Leave a Reply

