Pattern Review: The BumbleBee Dress

Image

Today I’m pretty excited to bring you a review of a recently released pattern. This is the BumbleBee Dress from the very talented SewingMamaRaeAnna and is her first ‘for sale’ pattern. If you’re not familiar with RaeAnna’s work, I suggest you head over to her blog ASAP! She has an awesome Ninja Turtle T-shirt tutorial that is high up on  my must sew list.

When planning how I wanted this dress to look, I decided it was time to indulge my desire to sew with some Nani Iro double gauze. All I can say about that fabric is WOW, the feel of the fabric is beautiful and I think it works perfectly with the design of this dress which can take fabrics with a bit of body to them. We are heading into summer in our part of the world, hence the summery vibe to the dress options that I chose.

Image

Nani Iro Blog 6

Now to the pattern: I must say that I really enjoyed sewing up this sweet little dress. There are two views to this dress pattern (see below), one with sleeves and a bodice ruffle and the sleeveless version with a small neck ruffle and/or a skirt ruffle. Given that I like a simple aesthetic I chose a cross between the two dress views – the sleeveless View B with the bodice ruffle from View A. You can see in these photos that the fit of the size 2T is perfect on my just 2 year old, I did not need to make any fit alterations at all. The bodice is fully lined and this, along with the ruffles give a great opportunity to add some fun contrasting colour to the dress.

Fullscreen capture 8132013 65011 AM

Image courtesy of www.sewingmamaraeanna.blogspot.com

RaeAnna provides a full colour instruction booklet with the pattern. While the dress is not difficult, I think sewers would benefit from having sewn a few dresses before attempting this one as the instructions do assume basic sewing and dress construction knowledge. This pattern is quick to sew, I made this dress up in one evening including a few rest breaks to watch some Supernanny 😉 I am really impressed with the size range of this pattern, it begins at 3 months and goes all the way to (wait for it…..) size 12! I don’t think I’ve really seen many indie girls patterns going beyond size 8. This certainly adds greatly to the value for money this pattern represents. I also love that there is a sleeve option as this is a feature that sets RaeAnna’s pattern apart from many other girl’s dress patterns.

An added bonus is that RaeAnna offers a free pattern in her shop for ‘Sweet and Simple Bloomers’ which are the perfect addition to this dress for a toddler. I couldn’t resist adding a pair to make this an even cuter ensemble!

Nani Iro Blog 2

You’ll notice that I didn’t add the leg elastic to the bloomers – this is because I am hoping that this little one will be toilet training soon and won’t be in need of bloomers too much longer!?! I thought if I made them as shorts, she could also wear them with a little white t-shirt and look very Wimbledon or something!

I sewed both the dress and the bloomers out of 1 meter of ‘Melody Sketch’ Nani Iro fabric and 30cms of contrasting quilting cotton. I sourced my fabric from my local quilting shop A Little Different, I just love the opportunity to get first hand advice on matching fabrics that you can only get in a bricks and mortar store. Their online store is still in development and this particular print does not seem to be generally available, however, MissMatatabi has a huge range of beautiful Nani Iro fabrics if you’re feeling inspired.

Nani Iro Blog 5

Nani Iro Blog 4

Can I just add that the bubble wand was a strike of genius in getting a stroppy toddler to co-operate (thanks to my good friend Sue-Anne for these), that was until I realised that the dress was sopping with bubble mixture. Hey ho, so is the price for happy toddler pics! Please let me know of any other photo-enabling tactics that you have had success with, I’m going to need a few more tricks with Kids Clothes Week coming up next week!

Linking up with ‘I sew Monday‘ at Go To Patterns .

Disclosure: RaeAnna sent me this pattern for free but my opinions are my own.

11 comments

  1. Renee, the dress turned out gorgeous 🙂 Love the colours 🙂 It has such a summery feel 🙂 I so hope that summer is just around the corner now! Congrats 🙂 I absolutely love it and I hope your sweet little girl will have tons of fun wearing it 🙂

Leave a Reply

