Selfish Sewing Week – Batwing Top Knock Off

Are you participating in Selfish Sewing Week over at Imagine Gnats and Made with Moxie? The idea is simple – spend some time this week sewing for yourself and then share it with us. It’s selfish sewing week quite often over here at nearest the pin – I don’t need too much convincing to sew something new for myself!

With school holidays upon us here in Australia and sewing time at a premium, I needed a quick and easy project. I recently pinned this cute tee on Pinterest and decided to incorporate the pocket onto a batwing top.

hImage

I cut a pattern from my new favourite batwing top. Two pattern pieces, no sleeves to insert – soooo quick!

Image

Image

Image

I used a grey marle cotton jersey that I had in my stash. The floral for the pocket was left over from my Washi dress, making this a very cheap project. The neckline is finished with a 1 1/2 inch wide strip of jersey. I have currently left the sleeve edges raw, but I may add binding to these too.

I think this batwing top knock off will be the first of many. Perfect for the in-between weather we are having here at the moment and so comfy. Thanks to Imagine Gnats and Made with Moxie for pushing us all to do some selfing sewing this week!

I’m linking this project up with the Professor Pincushion Closet Copy challenge over on Kollabora and the new link party at GoToSew.

Come on mum, enough photos already!!

IMG_6622

5 comments

Leave a Reply

