My 2 cents on the Wiksten Tank

You’ve got to love a good staple pattern, especially one that looks good and is speedy to sew. Staple patterns are a bit scarce in the independent pattern market, making good ones like gold. This is the Wiksten Tank by Jenny Gordy which has been seen all over the sewing blogosphere.

Image

This is my third iteration of this pattern as I had a couple of misses at getting the fit right (yep, that’s what muslins are for). I firstly sewed up a size small, as my measurements suggested, which was way too loose at the neckline and a bit rude when I leaned forwards (which I discovered while playing mini golf with the kids, ooops not a good look!). Next I sewed an extra small but this pulls tight across my bust. 3rd time lucky, I traced a small but used the extra small sizing around the neckline – much better!

Next time I will also try using Rae’s tip of tilting the pattern to take out any gaping at the neckline (you can read about it here). Thanks to Abbey of Sew Charleston for noting this in her recent Wiksten Maxi Dress post, which is where I read about it.

Image

Image

I do find the sizing a little unusual. Given that I’m rarely a size small in anything, I wonder if those who normally wear small sizes are sized out of this pattern? It is tempting to want to take the sides of the tank in a bit, but given there are no closures on the tank, it needs a bit of room to be able to get it on and off. The gingham fabric is an el cheapo that I found on clearance for $2/m.

So my conclusion is that this is a great pattern once you get the fit right. When the sewing experts tell you that it’s good practice to make a muslin, they are serious (note to self). Once the fit is sorted it’s a lovely quick pattern to sew up, with very neat french seams for a super professional look.

Belted? I wouldn’t normally wear it this way, but I was inspired by this post by Larissa (how great do all these tanks look?!?) and I’m looking for any excuse to wear my new turquoise belt!

Image

Image

Things started to go a little wonky here as the 5yo photographer’s arms were getting tired, bless him! Great job buddy x

On another note: are you following this season of Project Run and Play? It’s an online sewing contest for sewing children’s clothes. The first weeks dress remixes are amazing! I’m putting my support behind fellow Victorian Suz of Sewpony, check out her beautiful Cloudehill Dress. There are only a few hours left to vote for the first weeks challenge (you can vote here and it only takes a few seconds), get to it!!

4 comments

Leave a Reply

