Flip The Tinny Dress

One of the bloggers I love to follow is An of Straightgrain. Her style is simple but gorgeous. So, when I saw the Flip this Pattern challenge for August was An’s Tinny dress pattern, I was in! The Flip this Pattern challenge is run by FrancesSuzanne and requires sewers to ‘flip’ a pattern in a unique way.

So, here it is…my flipped Tinny top and skirt.

Image

The changes I made to the pattern were to (obviously!) separate the bodice and the skirt. To do this I drafted a skirt waistband and lengthened the top. As an alternative to the invisible zipper used in the pattern, I added a button placket and buttons down the back of the bodice. Finally, I used a flutter sleeve pattern from the craftiness is not optional Reversible Wrap Top pattern (I have this pattern cut out ready to sew next). I didn’t gather the sleeves so whether they are still technically flutter sleeves, I am not sure!

IMG_6343

IMG_6337

I loved the asymmetrical collar so much I had to keep it.

IMG_6364

No its not made from a 70’s tablecloth, although you’d be excused for thinking that. The fabric is a vintage poplin reproduction from Spotlight. The light denim is from a local fabric shop.

This was such a fun project. I can’t wait to sew up the Tinny in its original form! You can see the rest of the flipped Tinny dresses here, where you can shortly vote for your favourite!

Image

Kudos to bloggers who can get their 2 year olds to co-operate for photos!

14 comments

  1. Yes….I will second you on the notion: kudos to bloggers with compliant children :). So glad to see you join in the “Flip this Pattern” series and sharing your sweet creation with us….

  2. I adore that top fabric. It doesn’t feel tablecloth-y to me at all. The top and skirt are great together and that skirt can pair with so many tops that it could be a staple. I have CINO’s top cut out too and just need to find the time to sew it. So many projects on the list 🙂
    Great job! And no, my 2 year old won’t pose for pictures either.

  3. I too love the fabric for the top! It’s a great look and for some reason the off set collar looks so different on a top than on the dress. Well done!

Leave a Reply

